Question Mid-Season Rules Test 2016 Answers
Question 1 A3 is in the opponents’ restricted area for more than 3 seconds while A5 is dribbling the ball in the Team A backcourt. Has A3 committed a 3-second violation?
No - A 3-second violation can be committed only when a team is in control of the ball inside the playing court in the frontcourt.
Question 2 In the last minute of the game, A1 attempts 2 free throws. During the 2nd free throw A1 steps on the free-throw line while shooting and a violation is called. Team B requests a time-out. Shall team B resume the game with a throw-in at the throw-in line in team B's frontcourt and shall have 24 seconds on the shot clock?
Yes. Team B shall resume the game with a throw-in at the throw-in line in team B's frontcourt, opposite the scorer's table and shall have 24 seconds on the shot clock. - Interpretations : 17-10
Question 3 A1 straddles the centre line to start the 2nd period and passes the ball to A2. A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball while airborne and lands with both feet in his backcourt. Is it a violation?
Yes. Team A violation. A1 has established the team A control of the ball. A2 jumping from his frontcourt and catching the ball while airborne has established the team A control of the ball in the frontcourt. By landing in his backcourt A2 has caused the ball to return illegally to his backcourt. - Interpretations : 30-5
Question 4 Close to the end of the game A1 commits his 5th foul and leaves the game. Team A can continue the game with only 4 players as they have no more substitutes available. As team B is leading with more than 15 points, coach B demonstrating fair play wants to remove one of his players in order to continue to play also with 4 players. Is it correct when the referee obliges team B to field 5 players?
Yes. The request of coach B to play with less than 5 players shall be denied. As long as a team has sufficient players available, 5 players shall be on the playing court. - Interpretations : 9-4
Question 5 Thrower-in A3 passes the ball to his team-mate A4. In order to get free, A4 pushes-off B4. Is this a foul while Team A is in control of the ball?
Yes. Team control existed until the foul call.
Question 6 It is discovered that 1 of the players on the playing court is not 1 of the confirmed starting 5 players. This occurs before the start of the game. Should this player be substituted?
Yes. The player shall be replaced without any sanction by 1 of the 5 players who were to start the game. - Interpretations : 7-4
Question 7 A1 is awarded 2 free throws. Team A requests a time-out before the ball is at the disposal of the free-throw shooter A1. Shall the time-out be granted immediately, before the first free-throw attempt?
Yes. The time-out is granted immediately, before the first free-throw attempt. - Interpretations : 18-7
Question 8 At 1:03 to the end of the 4th period a technical foul is called on B1. A5 shoots 1 free throw after which a time-out is granted to team A. After time-out shall the game resume with a team A throw-in at the centre line extended, opposite the scorer's table?
Yes. The game resumes with a team A throw-in at the centre line extended, opposite the scorer's table. - Interpretations : 17-28
Question 9 The referee tosses the ball for the opening jump ball. Immediately after the ball is legally tapped by jumper A1. The ball goes directly out-of-bounds. Team B is awarded a throw-in. Shall the arrow turned to the favour of team B at this moment?
No. Team B is awarded a throw-in as the result of the A1 violation. After the throw-in the team that does not gain control of the live ball on the playing court will be entitled to the first alternating possession at the place nearest to where the next jump ball situation occurs.- Interpretations : 12-3
Question 10 A1 is standing with both feet in the frontcourt near the centre line when A1 attempts a bounce pass to A2 who is also standing with both feet in the frontcourt near the centre line. On the pass, the ball touches the backcourt before touching A2. Legal play?
No. Violation for illegally returning the ball to the backcourt - Interpretations : 30-8
Question 11 The game ends with the score Team A = 76 and Team B = 75. Before the referee has signed the scoresheet, the scorer realizes that a field goal scored by Team B has been erroneously credited to Team A. Shall the score be changed to correct the error?
Yes
Question 12 In team A's front court on a pass by A1 to A2 the ball touches B2 after which the ball touches the ring. A3 gains control of the ball. Shall the shot clock be reset to 14 seconds?
Yes. The shot clock shall be reset to 14 seconds as soon as A3 gains control of the ball.- Interpretations : 29-33
Question 13 During an end line throw-in, B4 throws the ball over the backboard. Has B4 committed a violation?
No. If the ball does not touch the back of the backboard, it is legal.
Question 14 Team B is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. An official and/or a scorer makes an error and the ball is erroneously awarded to team A for the throw-in. The ball is thrown-in and caught by A2 when the error is realised. Can this error be corrected?
No. Once the ball touches or is legally touched by a player on the playing court, the error cannot be corrected. However, team B shall not lose its alternating possession throw-in opportunity as a result of the error and will be entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in. - Interpretations : 12-4
Question 15 A2 passes the ball to A4 and B3 deflects the pass. A4 and B3 is running for the ball when A4 pushes B3 and a foul is called on A4. This is the 6th Team A foul in the period. B3 becomes angry with A4 and hits him. B3 is disqualified and must leave the game. He is substituted by B6. The referees decision: Throw-in by team B due to the team control is forfeited, 2 free throws by A4 followed by a Team A throw-in at the centre line extended, opposite the scorer's table. Correct?
Yes. Foul of A4 is a team control foul and the penalty is not 2 free throws but a throw-in. The correct procedure is: The throw-in of Team B is forfeited, 2 free throws by A4 followed by throw-in for Team A at the centre line extended, opposite the scorer's table.